WellZone

How to get psyched to run

Posted on: September 19, 2012

I run.  I don’t like to run. I have to get psyched to run.  To me, running is the toughest exercise of them all.  Sure there are extreme sports like snowboarding and mountain biking, but running is convenient and has a lower risk of  broken limbs.

My brother-in-law said, “Running is 10 percent legs, 10 percent lungs, and 80 percent brains.”  I have to agree with him.

Here are my 5  tips to get psyched to run:

1.  Dress for the occasion — this is a long tip.  

Select pants or shorts that let you move.  My husband prefers polyester.  I am a cotton girl.

If you jiggle, tight spandex pants will hold everything in place.

Ladies: Wear the tightest sports bra possible to eliminate excessive bounce.  The control will help you have a more comfortable run.

Slip on cotton socks and underwear to allow your skin to get some air.

Wear sturdy running shoes.

2. Stretch.

The warm up period with bends and stretches will help put you in the mood to run. Here are some stretches from Runner’s World:

3. Food.

I like to chew on gum or eat sugar-free hard candy when I run.  It could be a choke hazard, but I it helps me finish.

4.  Network.

Friends, family, and running buddies can share in your experiences to keep you motivated.  My husband sends a text with pictures and his running times to his group.   The kids call it Tarzan texting.

5. Music.

Set your iPod to the beat that gets you moving.  Many people can run without music; not me.  Races are tough when iPods are banned.  My husband can do it.  It is known to be safer to run without music so you hear your surroundings — especially traffic.

Alert: Last resort – step on a scale or stand in front of a full mirror in your underwear.  If that scares you,  focus on the fact that you will feel great when you are finished running and will be on the road to looking better.

How do you get psyched to run?

Tags: ,

2 Responses to "How to get psyched to run"

I feel you on this! I hate trying to find the motivation to run, but never regret it afterwards :)! Great Post!

No pain — no gain! Thanks!

Leave a Reply

SFMC News

Community Association Management

Hemingway Run

Marc Hemingway: On The Road To Berlin Marathon

Ray Ferrer - Emotion on Canvas

** OFFICIAL Site of Artist Ray Ferrer **

HarsH ReaLiTy

A Good Blog is Hard to Find

Anatomy of an Illness

Living life with a chronic disease in Los Angeles

Everywhere Once

An adult's guide to long-term travel

Bohoscandi

Vegetarian Food & Style Blog

Newbie Science

It's science...with a side of cupcakes

Wellness and health

Crazy Retail Life

Wellness and health

nothingfornow

Wellness and health

Nothing But Glam

Reviews and Rambles of a makeup addict.

Pintest: A Pinterest Test Kitchen

"I cook with wine, sometimes I even add it to the food" - W.C. Fields

Charlotte K Travel

“The world is a book and those who do not travel read only one page.”- St. Augustine

Licensed to Sass

Getting Smart One Sass Attack at a Time

TACKLE Your Life

Wellness and health

